2018 World Cup Opening Match Viewership Numbers In, Significantly Lower than 2014

Missing out on Robbie Williams’ performance.

By
Sports
12,287 Hypes 10 Comments

The 2018 FIFA World Cup has finally kicked off — with Robbie Williams at the opening ceremony and a big win for host nation Russia in the first match — but viewing figures across Europe are down from the last tournament. The match was watched by 4 million people in the UK, down from the 8.2 million that watched Brazil’s victory over Croatia four years ago, while France also had 4 million viewers (down from 8.7 million) and Germany had 9.5 million (down from 15.9 million).

The reasons for the steep decline are not clear, although the most likely explanation is the timing of the matches. Russia vs. Saudi Arabia kicked off at 4 p.m. BST/5 p.m. CEST, meaning that many people were not near a TV, while the first game of the Brazil tournament began at 9 p.m. BST/10 p.m. CEST. Shifts in modern viewership patterns and reception methods could have also attributed to the declined ratings.

For more from the World Cup, check out our guide of what to look out for over the next month.

Read Full Article
Source
Deadline

Join Our Discussions on Discord

The HYPEBEAST Discord Server is a community where conversations on cultural topics can be taken further.

858 Users Online

What to Read Next

Zaha Hadid Architects Reveals Extravagant Morpheus Hotel in Macau
Design

Zaha Hadid Architects Reveals Extravagant Morpheus Hotel in Macau

Featuring a new installation in KAWS.

Instagram Stops Notifying People If You Screenshot Their Stories
Tech

Instagram Stops Notifying People If You Screenshot Their Stories

Making it easier to creep again.

Virgil Abloh Addresses Unoriginality Claims on His IKEA Collab
Design 

Virgil Abloh Addresses Unoriginality Claims on His IKEA Collab

“That was my point.”


Banksy Work Worth Around $35,000 USD Stolen in Toronto
Arts

Banksy Work Worth Around $35,000 USD Stolen in Toronto

‘Trolley Hunter’ was on display at “The Art of Banksy” exhibit.

Nike's 2018 FIFA World Cup National Kits Are Made From Plastic Bottles
Fashion

Nike's 2018 FIFA World Cup National Kits Are Made From Plastic Bottles

Style, performance and sustainabilithy.

Nike & UNDEFEATED’s “The Fives” Collection Receives Backlash for New Logo Design
Fashion

Nike & UNDEFEATED’s “The Fives” Collection Receives Backlash for New Logo Design

Boosted from the U.S. Naval Academy?

More ▾
 
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Gain access to exclusive interviews with industry creatives, think pieces, trend forecasts, guides and more.

By subscribing, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Help us serve you better

We appreciate your support in allowing HYPEBEAST ads, where we can share contents from the latest fashion, to those culturally relevant. In adding HYPEBEAST to your ad blocker's whitelist, ads on our sites will show while you continue to browse.