Art
2,369 Hypes 0 Comments

One Million USD Andy Warhol Painting Leads Gagosian's Online Sale

Alongside works by Takashi Murakami, Katharina Grosse, and more.

Gagosian just launched its first-ever Online Viewing Room to celebrate Art Basel 2018. Leading the inaugural installment is a 1985-86 acrylic and silkscreen work dubbed Map of Eastern USSR Missile Bases (pos) by Andy Warhol for approximately $1.2 million USD. A number of pieces by international fine artists are also for purchase including Takashi Murakami’s 2014 acrylic and gold leaf painting entitled The Golden Age: Korin for $850,000 USD as well as a 2017 work on paper by Jenny Saville entitled Study for Twins priced at $450,000 USD.

A total of ten artworks are currently listed on Gagosian’s Online Viewing Room. Find the opening and closing dates for global regions below. In case you missed it, here’s this week’s list of best art drops.

Online Viewing Room opens:
12:00am HKT on June 11 (Hong Kong)
7:00pm EEST on June 10 (Athens)
6:00pm CEST on June 10 (Geneva, Paris, Rome)
5:00pm BST on June 10 (London)
12:00pm EDT on June 10 (New York)
9:00am PDT on June 10 (Los Angeles)

Online Viewing Room closes:
2:59pm HKT on June 21 (Hong Kong)
9:59am EEST on June 21 (Athens)
8:59am CEST on June 21 (Geneva, Paris, Rome)
7:59am BST on June 21 (London)
2:59am EDT on June 21 (New York)
11:59pm PDT on June 20 (Los Angeles)

Read Full Article

What to Read Next

Tour the Inside of Brendan Monroe & Heath Ceramics's Collaborative "Formation" Exhibit
Art

Tour the Inside of Brendan Monroe & Heath Ceramics's Collaborative "Formation" Exhibit

Framed wall images, sketches and sculptures.

Lee Ufan Erects Large 'Iron Field' for Art Basel Unlimited 2018
Art

Lee Ufan Erects Large 'Iron Field' for Art Basel Unlimited 2018

Steel wires standing four feet from the ground.

Felipe Pantone Issues Cease-And-Desist Letter to Rome Snowboards
Art

Felipe Pantone Issues Cease-And-Desist Letter to Rome Snowboards

Using the artist’s works without permission to promote new snowboards.

Ruth Asawa’s Iconic Wire Sculptures Portrayed in New Monograph
Art

Ruth Asawa’s Iconic Wire Sculptures Portrayed in New Monograph

Explore the looped-wire works of the late American artist.

Todd James Will Launch a New Solo Exhibition in Greece
Art

Todd James Will Launch a New Solo Exhibition in Greece

Entitled “The Gods Are Smiling on Us.”


Takashi Murakami Drops New 'Kaikai' & 'Kiki' Plush Dolls & Backpacks
Art

Takashi Murakami Drops New 'Kaikai' & 'Kiki' Plush Dolls & Backpacks

Available exclusively at Bar Zingaro in Japan.

Banksy's Original Gallerist to Display Rare Works in London
Art

Banksy's Original Gallerist to Display Rare Works in London

Six years’ worth of stenciled canvases, sculptures, and more.

MADSAKI & Cherry Fukuoka to Release Exclusive Merch for "EXHIBITION" Pop-Up
Art

MADSAKI & Cherry Fukuoka to Release Exclusive Merch for "EXHIBITION" Pop-Up

Special edition prints, T-shirts, and more.

Best Art Drops: KAWS 'Together' Sculpture, Takashi Murakami 'Flowers' Cushions & More
Art 

Best Art Drops: KAWS 'Together' Sculpture, Takashi Murakami 'Flowers' Cushions & More

Including a limited edition print by James Jean.

Cleon Peterson to Launch New "Blood & Soil" Exhibit in LA
Art

Cleon Peterson to Launch New "Blood & Soil" Exhibit in LA

Acrylic-on-canvas paintings, bronze sculptures, and more.

More ▾
 
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Gain access to exclusive interviews with industry creatives, think pieces, trend forecasts, guides and more.

By subscribing, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Looks like you’re using an ad-blocker

We charge advertisers instead of our readers. Support us by whitelisting our site.

Whitelist Us

How to Whitelist Us

screenshot
  1. Click the AdBlock icon in the browser extension area in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Under “Pause on this site” click “Always”.
  3. Refresh the page or click the button below to continue.
screenshot
  1. Click the AdBlock Plus icon in the browser extension area in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Block ads on – This website” switch off the toggle to turn it from blue to gray.
  3. Refresh the page or click the button below to continue.
screenshot
  1. Click the AdBlocker Ultimate icon in the browser extension area in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Switch off the toggle to turn it from “Enabled on this site” to “Disabled on this site”.
  3. Refresh the page or click the button below to continue.
screenshot
  1. Click the Ghostery icon in the browser extension area in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Click on the “Ad-Blocking” button at the bottom. It will turn gray and the text above will go from “ON” to “OFF”.
  3. Refresh the page or click the button below to continue.
screenshot
  1. Click the UBlock Origin icon in the browser extension area in the upper right-hand corner.
  2. Click on the large blue power icon at the top.
  3. When it turns gray, click the refresh icon that has appeared next to it or click the button below to continue.
screenshot
  1. Click the icon of the ad-blocker extension installed on your browser.You’ll usually find this icon in the upper right-hand corner of your screen. You may have more than one ad-blocker installed.
  2. Follow the instructions for disabling the ad blocker on the site you’re viewing.You may have to select a menu option or click a button.
  3. Refresh the page or click the button below to continue.