July 24, 2013 @ 01:36 AM
FailedPrayer

HB fam, I'm in a bit of a #1stworldproblem rut.

Sparknotes:
- I graduated from college just a few months ago and have solid internship experience in finance.
- My current full-time job pays pretty well for entry-level ($60k + $10k bonus), but the position is very dead-end (boring work).
- I'm still looking/applying/talking to people who work where I want to work, but this economy is shit and there are no positions open.
- I'm definitely grateful to have a job.

Questions:
1.) Would you guys feel fucked up if you left your current job just a few months in (<1 year) to take another job?
2.) Would you do an internship instead of a full-time job that pays?

I know there are some older folks here who have careers, so I figured I'd ask.

Thanks, fam.
July 24, 2013 @ 01:59 AM
mackness

Response to 1.) I wouldn't feel fucked up leaving a temporary full time job to pursue my 'dream' career or further advance towards it

Response to 2.) If it was a paid internship I would consider it, but definitely no for an unpaid

"mack you get a pass for wearing female pants i aint even gonna ether you anymore" Powercum http://jnmcknss.tumblr.com/

July 24, 2013 @ 02:05 AM
Villain™

If you're worried about leaving that job prior to getting this one, try getting the job before you quit. Once you get that job, then quit the other one. Keeps you safe.

$mart $tunnaz, $avage Life. SS x SL

July 24, 2013 @ 02:21 AM
FailedPrayer

Thanks for the advice, mackness/DO$E.

I forgot to add: I'm also located in NYC, will be working around 60-70 hours/week. I don't want to think too far ahead, but I just want to keep my shit in check.
July 24, 2013 @ 02:21 AM
Dino Spumoni