Labor Day - Enjoy 25% Off Your Order. Use code: LABORDAY25
February 24, 2010 @ 06:13 PM
Koven

I just started shooting in M mode with My d60, right now its mostly trail and error.

Anyways I have a question....When you guys are doing hand held shots. Do you guys just keep the same shutter speed (ex 1/10 seconds) and then just adjust the aperture accordingly?

Or do you adjust shutter and aperture each shot?

all I do is sip espressos and listen to AZ -mrelllis.tumblr.com

February 24, 2010 @ 06:17 PM
julian.

you'll usually need to meter every shot depending on climate.
there is a light meter in the camera after all..

julianxberman.tumblr.com /

February 24, 2010 @ 06:20 PM
Koven

Cool so do you fallow the light meter to a T, or do you use that just give you a general range?

For example, what situations would you shoot at a higher or lower F stop then what the Light meter suggests? And does it change if you have flash? Sorry im a noob.

February 24, 2010 @ 06:36 PM
Koven

another thing, say your taking a pic at night time with a tripod. And have the option of doing a long exposure. Is a Lower or Higher Fstop recommended?

February 24, 2010 @ 06:37 PM
TheSecondComin

wtf go take a class.
February 24, 2010 @ 07:27 PM
Koven

wtf go take a class.

Your join date says everything.

February 24, 2010 @ 07:57 PM
AW

All your settings just depends on what you're shooting + lighting conditions. There also other factors like ISO that play a role, and etc..

It basically depends on your desired depth of field + Light I guess.

For example, if you have a main object you're shooting (like macro or you only want one thing in focus), then i would use a lower f-stop (f/1.8, f/3.5, f/5.6...etc) But if I'm shooting some street shots / scenery and want most of the scene or all of the scene in focus, then I will use a higher f-stop (f/8, f/10,f/13...etc) so everything will be in focus.

As for shutter speed, I set accordingly to my f-stop and sometimes the other way around.