Official Film Thread

December 19, 2012 @ 17:26:22 PM
Post: 256
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ATL
i have a question for those more knowledgeable than me. ok so say i have two canon ae-1s. both of them have the same 400 iso film in them, but one has a 35-200mm 3.5 zoom lens on it, and the other one has a 50mm 1.8 on it. if i set the aperture on both of the cameras to 5.6, will the shutter speed have to be slower on the ae-1 with the 35-200mm lens on it in order to get the same exposure as the one with the 50mm set at 5.6? i am having this problem with my two ae-1s. i think its because the lens is so long that it needs more light to get the same exposure, even when the zoom is set to 50mm and the aperture is the same. 
yes.
from here:
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/camera-exposure.htm

"Technical Note: With many lenses, their light-gathering ability is also affected by their transmission efficiency, although this is almost always much less of a factor than aperture. It's also beyond the photographer's control. Differences in transmision efficiency are typically more pronounced with extreme zoom ranges. For example, Canon's 24-105 mm f/4L IS lens gathers perhaps ~10-40% less light at f/4 than Canon's similar 24-70 mm f/2.8L lens at f/4 (depending on the focal length)."
December 19, 2012 @ 21:54:10 PM
Post: 111
Join Date: Feb 2006
no way dude

if you have iso 400 in both and you have the same speed and aperture it will be exposed the same way. 

when you use an external meter there is no setting for focal lenght or brand of camera. 
December 19, 2012 @ 22:17:55 PM
Post: 9174
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Atlanta
^Hey i messaged u about the 503
December 19, 2012 @ 23:59:20 PM
Post: 312
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oakland
yeah idk, shits weird. i figured it would be the same regardless of the length of the lens. i thought maybe the meter was messed up in one of the ae-1s. oh well, we'll see when i get my pictures back.
December 21, 2012 @ 03:50:40 AM
Post: 397
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: US


December 21, 2012 @ 04:06:40 AM
Post: 737
Join Date: Jul 2009
recently started shooting film and shooting more seriously and hence posting said images on flickr as well as tumblr. tumblr is not all original content but I try to slim down amount of reblogs and what not
feel free to follow
http://www.flickr.com/photos/luccaxverrelli
http://luccaxverrelli.tumblr.com/
some recent shots I like




December 21, 2012 @ 18:22:15 PM
Post: 954
Join Date: Aug 2010
recently started shooting film and shooting more seriously and hence posting said images on flickr as well as tumblr. tumblr is not all original content but I try to slim down amount of reblogs and what not
feel free to follow
http://www.flickr.com/photos/luccaxverrelli
http://luccaxverrelli.tumblr.com/
some recent shots I like
I followed you. 

I want to post up some film stuff but I need to get a scanner that will scan my negatives since Walgreens obviously can't scan images onto a disc correctly. I have yet to take anything all that great though. 

www.jacobskoglund.com | www.jacobsphotobooth.tumblr.com

December 21, 2012 @ 21:12:38 PM
Post: 397
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: US
Originally posted by Inactive User
recently started shooting film and shooting more seriously and hence posting said images on flickr as well as tumblr. tumblr is not all original content but I try to slim down amount of reblogs and what not
feel free to follow
http://www.flickr.com/photos/luccaxverrelli
http://luccaxverrelli.tumblr.com/
some recent shots I like
I followed you. 

I want to post up some film stuff but I need to get a scanner that will scan my negatives since Walgreens obviously can't scan images onto a disc correctly. I have yet to take anything all that great though. 
i recommend the epson v700. amazing piece of work
December 21, 2012 @ 23:23:58 PM
Post: 66
Join Date: Dec 2011
Any suggestions for replacement film holders for the V600 or settings? I'm using the software it came with and its giving OK results but what do you guys use?
December 22, 2012 @ 00:09:22 AM
Post: 397
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: US
Any suggestions for replacement film holders for the V600 or settings? I'm using the software it came with and its giving OK results but what do you guys use?
Are you using the Epson software or Silverfast? Mine came with silverfast and its 10x better.

December 22, 2012 @ 01:28:08 AM
Post: 574
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: maryland
interesting. I have a the v600 too. i use the epson software. works fine for me. I always scan on professional mode so i can tweak the settings to my liking if i have too.
December 22, 2012 @ 01:33:23 AM
Post: 574
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: maryland

been on b&w feel lately.
December 22, 2012 @ 02:10:04 AM
Post: 111
Join Date: Feb 2006





December 23, 2012 @ 00:15:52 AM
Post: 9174
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Atlanta
Epson v600 + Vuescan = smokeyface
December 23, 2012 @ 02:37:00 AM
Post: 158
Join Date: Dec 2011
-------------accidental double post
Dude I didn't even submit my pictures to the scholastic thing and it was for the most stupid reason. I regret it now. 
December 23, 2012 @ 02:43:56 AM
Post: 158
Join Date: Dec 2011
December 23, 2012 @ 06:44:58 AM
Post: 2341
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SD \\ CHI
Originally posted by Inactive User
-------------accidental double post
Dude I didn't even submit my pictures to the scholastic thing and it was for the most stupid reason. I regret it now. 
what happened?
December 23, 2012 @ 09:23:58 AM
Post: 1314
Join Date: Apr 2008
(Invalid img)

now i gotta save up for a lens lmfao 
December 23, 2012 @ 18:15:28 PM
Post: 27
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Singapore

been on b&w feel lately.
What film did you used? 
Did you do any digital post-processing?
December 23, 2012 @ 21:58:55 PM
Post: 574
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: maryland
@briezrs
I usually use hp5+ or tri-x for b&w. color I use fuji pro 400h and portra 400
Yea I do. I add a black border to keep the the viewers eyes drawn to the center of the picture. It's a thing I picked up from one of favorite photographers.
Also I adjust a little contrast at times just like how you would adjust contrast when you would work in the dark room. 
If I cant do it in the darkroom I usually don't do it on photoshop. (I try to match the tones to how my darkroom print looks like).
December 23, 2012 @ 23:07:56 PM
Post: 2341
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SD \\ CHI

too many cameras
just started a roll in this last week lol
December 24, 2012 @ 00:08:56 AM
Post: 574
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: maryland
@keo_0 straight sexy.
I'm waiting for a black G2 to pop up for a good price. Carl Zeiss lenses are amazing.
get that 45mm f/2
December 24, 2012 @ 04:51:25 AM
Post: 312
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oakland
canon 500n w/ expired polaroid 400 iso



December 24, 2012 @ 04:52:42 AM
Post: 312
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oakland
was very surprised by how contrasty the film was being it was expired cheap ass polaroid/walmart film.
December 24, 2012 @ 04:55:03 AM
Post: 312
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oakland
too many cameras
just started a roll in this last week lol

same here man. picked up both of these ae-1s this week. got a roll in both of them. only paid $15 for the silver one with the 200mm zoom on it.

December 24, 2012 @ 16:44:17 PM
Post: 397
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: US
anyone here fucked wit da Olympus xa? is it worth it?
December 24, 2012 @ 17:44:13 PM
Post: 158
Join Date: Dec 2011
-------------accidental double post
Dude I didn't even submit my pictures to the scholastic thing and it was for the most stupid reason. I regret it now. 
what happened?
I had to wait until the last minute to do everything and other obligations came in front of me being able to look over what I wanted to send. I don't see it really as stupid anymore just unfortunate seeing that I could have won. I have two more years to participate so I guess it's not that bad.
December 25, 2012 @ 19:04:36 PM
Post: 22
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK

too many cameras
just started a roll in this last week lol
i have that minolta or one very similar, good pictures if it works!
December 27, 2012 @ 05:02:56 AM
Post: 2049
Join Date: Apr 2012
How do you guys upload polaroid pictures?? just use a scanner? i tried it, and the quality came out shitty. Do you guys use any programs or a specific scanner?
December 27, 2012 @ 05:10:38 AM
Post: 604
Join Date: Jun 2012
How do you guys upload polaroid pictures?? just use a scanner? i tried it, and the quality came out shitty. Do you guys use any programs or a specific scanner?
I scanned a couple dozen Polaroids with no problem. Is your scanner clean of any dust or anything like that? I don't have a real fancy scanner (it's a flatbed scanner built into my HP printer) and they came out OK.

Here is one for example
Please login first to reply.
x