HALLOWEEN SALE - UP TO 25% OFF - USE CODE: NOTRICKS14 (24 HOURS LEFT)
October 23, 2013 @ 08:52 AM
chief

How did you guys find jobs related to the field or make you and your resume stand out?

A job I'd love would be to work in an ad agency, but I don't have the experience for that yet. I graduated this summer and sort of slacked off looking for a job till about a month ago cause I wanted to enjoy my summer. I chose to play soccer for my school instead of gather work experience, which I'm paying for now, but have no regrets. My school has a good communication program (shoutout to Edward R. Murrow). Yeah say what you want about a "shitty" comm major, but I hate math and find the psychology and creativity behind advertising and marketing fascinating which I why I chose it.

I've been looking on Indeed, Monster, and Craigslist mostly for job listings and internships, but does anybody know a way to stand out and not be just another random ass resume in the crowd? I feel I have a strong looking resume, content a bit lacking for the lack of work experience, but otherwise well-worded and visually pleasing. It'd be cool if someone with experience looking at resumes wouldn't mind checking mine out.

I'd love for anyone to share their experiences with looking for a job straight out of college with little to none experience. I guess we can use this thread for that reason, doesn't necessarily have to be filtered to just ad/marketing majors

•••

October 23, 2013 @ 09:08 AM
Elijah Brown

Try Elance.com 
October 23, 2013 @ 09:48 AM
Olive C

Websites are ok but won't get you anywhere until you get experience. My advice, what I did right after graduating, is one of two things, depending on your situation: