Free Worldwide Shipping on Orders Over $150.00 USD or more - Use Code: HBSHIP150
May 16, 2013 @ 02:15 AM
buddha-monk

Yo, so school is about to end and I need a summer job. I've had a few interviews, but none of them have called back. All these places I interviewed at have been retail outlet stores and I'm assuming that they don't call me back because of my lack of actual job experience. I mean, I had a few jobs but they've all been odd jobs like I was a photographer for a web site for a while and I've been a coach for a football camp among other random things, plus I've done a ton of volunteering and interning at hospitals and such, but I guess that stuff just doesn't cut it. So any advice on what retailers or any other employer would want to hear from someone like me during an interview?
May 16, 2013 @ 02:18 AM
intellect

Supreme is always hiring.  The workers there are a friendly bunch!
May 16, 2013 @ 02:18 AM
REVS

Make yourself look good. Don't put down you looking for "just a summer job" because you and every other high school / college kid is back and/or about to be out and looking for just a summer job. The job market is currently swamped with people like you, no offense. **

Make yourself basically available to work any-time, and let them know you can. 

Just because a place doesn't call back, doesn't mean the spot is filled. Keep calling and keep inquiring until you get the "the position has been filled, but we'll keep your folder on file for the next 90 days" call. 

Go back to previous jobs or employers, places you've volunteered at, see if anyone is looking for an employee. 

When all else fails, hit up a burger joint and you'll get a job. It isn't the best, but a paycheck is a paycheck especially for you as I'm assuming you're in high school. College?

**Edit: You actually should have started looking for a summer job 2 months ago. 

I prefer carcinogens to endorphins.

May 16, 2013 @ 02:22 AM
buddha-monk