Labor Day - Enjoy 25% Off Your Order. Use code: LABORDAY25
May 31, 2011 @ 05:34 PM
jaded

When I graduated from high school and went to college, my brother and I took full advantage of the freedom, and cut class, partied, etc. We were fortunate enough to have parents that paid our tuition, and we wasted their money for the first two years. Our grades got worse and worse each semester, and though our GPAs were never low enough to get us on academic probation, they were pretty pathetic. One day, after our first couple years, our dad sat us down and told us if we weren't going to take it seriously, then drop out and go back when we will. From that point on, we took things seriously, and we both finished with fairly strong GPAs, but it took those final couple of years to get out of the hole we had created for ourselves. Fortunately, I got my GPA high enough that I can go back and get my master's without having to crush the GMAT.

So, my first piece of advice: Take school seriously. Education is important. I know when you're young, the whole "C's get degrees" way of thinking is cool to you, and all you want to do is party and hang out with your friends, but you really need to make it a priority. I'm 27 now, and a lot of my friends who took school seriously are finishing med school now or are on paths to much better careers than me. Some went right into the master's program while I was off fucking around with my friends. At the time, you look at these guys and you criticize them for doing nothing but going to school all the time, but I promise you will reach a point where you wish you would have done the same. If you can go right into a master's program, do it. Don't waste any time. I have wasted several years now that I can't get back, and I have very little to show for them. Set yourself apart from the rest, and continue to get an education.