August 12, 2013 @ 02:16 PM
dmwalking

A lotta guys come on here and post their soundcloud and their music video recorded on their iphone and their website which is just their tumblr and expect to get recognition.  You wonder why nobody is digging your music or just flat out hates on you.  I'm making this post to help you out.  Take 5 or 10 minutes and get some perspective. 

Now, I'm no expert on the music industry. But I've been a student of the game for a long time.  Hell, I've even gone on a bit of a mini tour when I was younger so I'd like to think I know a little bit.  Sadly, most of what I know is based on mistakes. The same mistake that a lot of you guys are making. So check it:

Hip hop is the most image based that it's ever been.  If your image ain't right, no one's gonna give you a shot.  Plus, the day of the every-man is gone.  The odds of a modern day Nas blowing up is unlikely.  Danny Brown is actually very down to earth, but it wasn't until he got that weird haircut and started dressing funky that he started to get a name. People don't really care much for relatable characters anymore. They want larger than life, ridiculous, obnoxious, even scary.  They don't wanna listen to Ron from down the block who's still broke to remind them that they're broke. Hip hop is escapism for most part.

Ultimately, my point is that most dudes spamming the music forum don't have a strong image. You don't have a presence. You don't have a niche or a movement.  You still seem like the same 100 dudes who wanna rap that you went to high school with.  Some might even be skillful. You just lack the charisma to attract your attention.  

Here's some tips: