April 12, 2012 @ 11:10 PM
Swag Ketchum

Gernegy & Maties - Biceps: http://youtu.be/n8SbPAGcD2w

KiD CuDi's "In My Dreams" is entirely a sample. Underground band not credited anywhere in the liner notes either. Shame on Emile and the KiD CuDi camp.

As a producer/artist, I care because as an unknown artist, I'd be pissed as hell if my work got sampled for a major label work without being credited or compensated for in any way whatsoever. Keep in mind that I am not against sampling (I do it myself, and I AM aware that hip-hop was created from sampling); however, I AM against generating thousands, perhaps millions, of dollars in capital for a supposedly original work that is actually entirely someone else's (all they did was add strings). If this was a free mixtape, then I wouldn't even care if there was no credit given. Just... Damn.

What do y'all think?
April 12, 2012 @ 11:55 PM
NZOO

If it was a prob, dude would've been sued by now.

Don't badmind me.

April 12, 2012 @ 11:56 PM
JimmyRS

I just looked at the sample credits... That song was listed, homie.
April 13, 2012 @ 12:37 AM
Swag Ketchum

This is a Wikipedia screenshot from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Man_on_the_Moon:_The_End_of_Day.

This is an excerpt from the digital PDF:
Written By: S.Mescudi, E. Haynie // Published By: Elsie's Baby Boy
Publishing (ASCAP) Heavy Crate Publishing (ASCAP) // Produced By:
Emile Haynie for Emile Music Inc // Recorded by Emile Haynie at The
Broski Room, New York, NY // Mixed By: Manny Marroquin @ Larrabee
Studios, (Universal City, CA) assisted by Christian Plata and Erik Madrid
mastered by Vlado Meller @ Universal Mastering Studios, NYC // assisted
by Mark Santangelo // Strings arranged & Conducted by Larry Gold at
The Studio 215 // Strings by The Larry Gold Orchestra. All rights reserved.
Used by permission.

These are my photos from my vinyl album liner notes. Left image is "Simple As"; right image is "In My Dreams". "Simple As" credits a sample. "In My Dreams" does not.