Free Worldwide Shipping on Orders Over $150.00 USD or more - Use Code: HBSHIP150
July 10, 2007 @ 03:41 PM
corkscrewed

so i decided to experiment on a pair of old Dunk 20's that i had laying around. this is my first time using the Angelus High Gloss finish.

-how many coats do i put on before it get that plastic-y look?
i'm using black Angelus which is naturally glossy, and so far i've added 3 coats of finish, and it just makes the paint look extremely glossy, but not patent leathery! anybody got any tips that would be helpful?....Chrisco i'm lookin at you smile

behold:

July 10, 2007 @ 03:44 PM
r0k

let them dry hard core and spray them out with lacquer...or just a high gloss sealer....paint is never going to get super super glossy because its just going to cover the layers but with the lacquer it can build up and look like glass....

someone else might be able to help with specific brands that might work well....but whatever you do test it out first before you smash a pair of shoes...
July 10, 2007 @ 03:58 PM
Theseventhletter

lacquer may be too brittle for what you want to do alot of customizers fail attempting the patent leather effect using just paint
July 10, 2007 @ 04:01 PM
r0k

lacquer may be too brittle for what you want to do alot of customizers fail attempting the patent leather effect using just paint

yeah very true....gotta find something flexible..

krylon gloss clear coat might work alright.....just do it in real thin layers.
July 10, 2007 @ 06:05 PM
Theseventhletter

krylons high gloss clear cracks ive used it when i airbrushed some customs for my 10th grade talent show

only fool proof way is to buy bulk patent leather cut and sew it and all of those steps are hard
July 10, 2007 @ 06:11 PM
corkscrewed

yeah very true....gotta find something flexible..

krylon gloss clear coat might work alright.....just do it in real thin layers.