Free Worldwide Shipping
Spend $150 USD or more. Click for details.
January 23, 2009 @ 07:29 AM
unnamedone

Hi, hopefully this is allowed here.

I know right now isn't the best time to apply for retail jobs, but I'll like to prepare my resume for later on (perhaps Feb-March) to apply to Foot Locker or Champs in Toronto malls. Does anyone have any ideas what managers look for when hiring? I tried applying two different times at many stores but I didn't receive a single call for an interviewconfused.

I'm in my second year at Ryerson, I don't have much retail experience other than some fast food. I do have a few volunteer hours. My friend was able to get his first job at Foot Locker when he was 16, but he did have solid volunteer work (he quit after a couple of weeks because he hated it).

Gracias amigos.
January 23, 2009 @ 11:59 AM
jaychiz

are you wanting to work there strictly for shoe discounts?

if that's the case i would look elsewhere
January 23, 2009 @ 02:25 PM
Zero_Regret

You don't really need much... just need references and u gotta do well on the interview and ur fine. They also have a test that you have to do... its like an integrity test and if you pass that you're all good. I've seen dumbasses pass it so it shouldn't be too bad.
January 23, 2009 @ 03:27 PM
unnamedone

Thank you both for responding.

jaychiz - I can't say discounts isn't a factor, but it's not the sole purpose. I like a job in which I could actually enjoy, don't really care if it's minimum wage.

Zero_Regret, how does one get an interview though? I dropped off my resume before and got no response. Spoke to a couple of managers before, both basically asked for my hours available, wrote it on the back of my resume then never got back (I was very flexible with my hours given). I knew they were hiring as well since there were signs at the front.

Thanks again guys.
January 23, 2009 @ 06:07 PM
GOVOLTRONIC