300+ New Sale Items (Up to 80% Off Selected Brands)
November 15, 2013 @ 12:14 AM
Super Villain

Hi!

I was just wondering about peoples experiences at art school, has it been good or bad? I am in the process for applying to school and actually got offered a merit scholarship to the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. I am a canadian student and still have to apply for Canadian Scholarships as well other american ones. My focus is drawing an painting. Tell me about your art school experiences, which schools/ programs are the best.
November 15, 2013 @ 06:01 AM
noire

>Art Institute of chicago
i swear there is a chief keef joke somewhere in there im just not clever to think of it

#NOIRE #NOIRE #NOIRE #NOIRE

December 6, 2013 @ 05:47 AM
SeanHowellArt

Art School is rubbish! I've been to University of Toronto and Sheridan College. They teach nothing and they kill your creativity. Get a job or study Engineering or Medical research. Also I would suggest that you work and get some free knowledge from google.com and wikipedia.com and youtube.com before you get indebted with schools. The old way of teaching in schools is very flawed. Basically the only skill you need to survive is how to make a proper and accurate google search. Take time off, buy a laptop and foster your information finding skills. Art school makes you do unnecessary projects that will stress you out and stunt your natural progress as a creative thinking being.
December 6, 2013 @ 08:52 AM
keo_

Have a good idea of what you'll be doing when your done and be sure you can do it. Art school is expensive and unlike other degrees, it's kind of hard to tailor a BFA in painting to any other job. Think of the commercial aspects of what you want to focus on.