Share this article with friends Share
HYPETRAK is now part of HYPEBEAST Music. Read the latest music stories here.

JAY Z Addresses Police Brutality With 'Songs For Survival' Playlist

Featuring Kanye West, Beyoncé, Kendrick Lamar, Curtis Mayfield, Sam Cooke, Common and more.

After releasing ”spiritual” in response to the recent police shootings of Alton Sterling and Philando Castile, JAY Z has taken to TIDAL to share a playlist called “Songs For Survival.” Curated to help fans through these recent tragedies, the 24-track playlist features an array of songs that tackle the social injustices of their time, including Kendrick Lamar’s “Alright,” Curtis Mayfield’s “Moving On Up,” Kanye West’s “Ultralight Beam,” Beyoncé’s “FREEDOM” and many more. Hov makes his objective and message for “Songs For Survival” clear by assigning an image of Malcolm X and Martin Luther King Jr. as the artwork. Stream the inspiring playlist below.

Read Full Article

What to Read Next

A$AP Ferg Announces New Project 'Still Striving'
No Vacancy Inn Is Now Available at Dover Street Market
Watch Kid Cudi's Full Interview With Pharrell & Scott Vener for OTHERtone
Drake's 'VIEWS' Gets Knocked off the Top of the Charts by Blink-182
Future & Zaytoven Link up for "Havin It"
This Tuscan Farm Villa Is the Perfect Retreat From the World
Load More